My House and Home

Adventures in making our house a home….and other stuff.

Brown paper bag flowers December 23, 2011

Filed under: Autumn,DYI Crafts,Tutorials,Winter — Tasya Marra Demers @ 8:27 pm
Tags:

Brown paper lunch bags turned into flowers, took a few times to get them right with a lot of manipulating, but after a few tries it became fun and every one is completely different! I strung them on a string with clothespins and a bit of greenery in between.

Here is how I did it…I started with a basic brown lunch bag.

Then I cut off the bottom.

Next, I divided the bag into four sections length wise.

Now stack em up!

Fold the stack from the short end into an accordion.

Then I stapled the middle to secure it.

Now, it is time to round the edges with your scissors, unless you want pointy edges, which would be cool too!

Here comes the tricky part, at least till you get the hang of it…peel the flower petals out to form a flower.

I also, tried the other way too. Ya know when I told you earlier to fold accordion style from the short end? Well, try it from the long end with eight sheets of paper bag instead of four. The result is a bigger, fuller flower like below.

I took mine and strung it by string with clothespins (wanted some kind of rope or raffia, but had none on hand) I then added some greenery to give it contrast.

In the end I am pleased with the results, I might have to do some more!
I hope you give it a try!

 

2 Responses to “Brown paper bag flowers”

  1. Great idea! You could tweak for any occasion, add some hearts for valentines etc. Totally going to try this one. I can’t believe you are so busy blogging with x-mas eve tomorrow. Woot woot!


Leave a Reply

