My House and Home

Adventures in making our house a home….and other stuff.

Moss, moss, moss January 10, 2012

Filed under: DYI Crafts — Tasya Marra Demers @ 8:45 pm
Tags:

Moss is messy, but I like moss balls and moss letters, so I took the plunge!

Messy indeed, but I like the end result! Start with styrofoam balls and sheet moss from your local craft store and get the glue gun hot!

Cut strips of moss out and start gluing and filling in as needed. It doesn’t matter in the end how you do it, it looks great even if there is overlapping.

Glue, glue, glue!

The moss ball is starting to take shape!

Voila! There you have it, easy as pie! But, messier than pie!

Now onto the letter D!

I was at my local party supply store and came across cardboard letters, so I scooped two letter D’s up.

Then I went to my local fabric store and bought a strip of foam from their scrap bin for a $1.20 to make my form a little fatter. I then cut it up and glued them to the D and topped with the second D to make my form to wrap with the moss.

And, yes I do know that they make styrofoam letter forms, but I wanted immediate gratification and this was my quick fix to get me there without having to track one down!

Here I go with the strips of moss and my trusty hot glue gun.

Keep going and going and going!

And the final product our family monogram the letter D!

Now to put my moss loving creation on display! I just wish that big ugly fan wasn’t in the way!

Alright, now it is your turn….create your family monogram with moss and link here if you please!

 

One Response to “Moss, moss, moss”

  1. melissa Says:

    Mossy letters!!!? Gotta love MOSS!!


Leave a Reply

